Sunday, November 4, 2012

Edwin Way Teale (1899-1980)

Author and naturalist Edwin Way Teale (1899-1980) wrote nearly three dozen books, including a series on his journeys through the four seasons. North with the Spring (1951) was the first book in the series. Autumn Across America (1956) and Journey Into Summer (1960) followed. The last, Wandering Through Winter (1965), won a Pulitzer Prize. Teale was born in Illinois, but it's no small source of pride for Hoosiers like me to know that he got his start as a naturalist on his grandparents' Indiana farm or that he received his undergraduate degree from an Indiana college (Earlham, 1922).

Text copyright 2012 Terence E. Hanley

No comments:

Post a Comment